Folk Band The Felice Brothers Release New Single Flowers By The Roadside

Folk Rock band, The Felice Brothers, released their single “Flowers By The Roadside” on Thursday. The track is a preview of the upcoming album Valley of Abandoned Songs set to be released on June 28.

“Flowers By The Roadside” has a classic Americana acoustic sound and is accompanied by a music video which is filmed in a film noir and new wave style. It follows a young girl on her little adventures while some of the lyrics are typed out on the screen. 

Guitarist and vocalist, Ian Felice said, “this song was written one especially bleak winter day as a means to teleport to summer. Midway through the first and only take of the song James walked across the room, picked up a toy glockenspiel and plucked out a melody that had occurred to him. It was recorded in 2018 in our old cinderblock studio outside of Hudson, NY.”

The Felice Brothers are originally from Palenville, NY in the Catskill mountains and they first started to get attention in the 2000’s when they played in the New York City Subway. Their first self released album Lantown came out in 2005. Since their start they’ve toured with Old Crow Medicine Show and opened for Dave Matthews Band. They are currently signed to Conor Oberst’s new label, Million Star Records. The band is made up of Ian Felice, James Felice (piano/vocals), Jeske Hume (bass), and Will Lawrence (drums).

Along with the new single, the album is full of great pieces. Ian Felice’s melancholic voice fills each song and some tracks have a slight bluegrass sound. The album has been described by Ian Felice as a “tightrope walk between light and dark.”

Comments are closed.