Phish Releases Another Track From New Album, “Oblivion”

Phish has officially unleashed “Oblivion,” the second song released from their forthcoming new album Evolve. The band’s first album in over four years, Evolve, is set to arrive via JEMP Records/ATO on Friday, July 12. But now two tracks from it have been unveiled before its official release next month. First, the album’s title track “Evolve” premiered last month. And now “Oblivion” has been made available to the public – with both studio cuts able to be heard below.

oblivion phish

Evolve, Phish’s 16th studio album, is produced by Vance Powell and Bryce Goggin. It was recorded in the fall of 2023 at the band’s now famous Vermont recording studio, The Barn. True to Phish’s unique creative process, the album’s 12 tracks were selected from arrangements shaped by the band’s dynamic live performances. Some, like the fan-favorite “A Wave Of Hope,” have become springboards for Phish’s most soaring improvisation.

Phish seems to be giving “Oblivion” the same treatment. The song first debuted last summer and has already been played ten times, with a few serious jams attached to the back end. This includes a standout performance in Syracuse just a few weeks after its debut. And a huge arena rock version as only Madison Square Garden can supply.

This new album seems to have a fitting title as Phish’s distinct musical language is on vivid display; still pushing boundaries, still very much continuing to evolve. The cover of Evolve and gatefold feature paintings by Mehdi Ghadyanloo. The track “The Well” is only available on the vinyl version of the album.

Phish Dry Goods has three different exclusive pressings of Evolve available for pre-order, including a “Crimson Robed Edition” (neon-pink/maroon colored wax), “Pillow Jets Edition” (transparent/blue colored wax), and an “Eco-Onyx Gates” 180g Audiophile Edition pressed on recycled eco-black wax. T-shirts, CDs, and hats are also available.

Evolve Tracklist

1. Hey Stranger 4:47
2. Oblivion 6:03
3. Evolve 4:12
4. A Wave Of Hope 5:04
5. Pillow Jets 5:57
6. Lonely Trip 6:00
7. Life Saving Gun 4:25
8. Monsters 5:15
9. Ether Edge 4:06
10. Human Nature 2:54
11. Valdese 3:36
12. The Well 4:30*
13. Mercy 4:11

*track available only on the vinyl version

Pre-orders for Evolve are available now in all formats – including digital, CD, and double LP vinyl – via the Phish Dry Goods store:

Comments are closed.