Jocelyn and Chris Take the Big Wins at the 2020 Eddies Music Awards

Jocelyn and Chris took home a pair of big wins at the 2020 Eddies Music Awards as music across the Capital Region was honored at the Thomas Edison Music Awards, more commonly known as the Eddies Music Awards, on May 2, 2021.

2020 Eddies Awards

The Eddies Music Awards broadcast from Universal Preservation Hall for its second annual awards show and was presented by KeyBank. The awards show was rescheduled twice during the pandemic and was shot on a closed set in UPH’s Great Hall with four musical performances and four panel discussion on how artists, technicians, venue owners and others pivoted during the pandemic. The panels were hosted by WEQX’s Jeff Morad and WEXT’s Andy Gregory.

2020 eddies awards

Jocelyn and Chris ended up sweeping the awards show taking home three big wins in Album of the Year, Video of the Year and Solo / Duo Artist of the Year. Jocelyn and Chris are siblings, who debuted their next single “Sugar and Spice” while performing with a full band during the broadcast. Other notable wins include Record of the Year which went to the Gibson Brothers, who also won Country / Bluegrass Artist of the Year. The other two-time winner was WEXT which won Radio Station of the Year and whose Chris Wienk won Radio DJ of the Year. Awards were announced in a total of 34 categories.

2020 eddies awards

There were three other performances at  the awards show. One performance was done by Marty Wendell who is a 2020 Eddies Music Award nominee for Country / Bluegrass Artist of the Year. Another was done by bandleader/ vocalist/ instrumentalist/songwriter Garland Nelson who is a two-time 2019 Eddies Music Awards winner.  Schenectady native Promise The Unbreakable™, who was nominated for Hip Hop/Rap Artist of the Year in 2019 and again in 2020, performed as well. Nelson did double-duty as show emcee. 

The show, filmed by Chromoscope Pictures of Troy, is available free on demand through Collaborative Studios’ Amazon Fire TV, Roku and Apple TV apps, its public access channels in Albany and Schenectady, and on YouTube and Facebook. Collaborative Studios and the Eddies Music Awards are initiatives of Proctors Collaborative.

2020 eddies awards

The 2021 Eddies Music Awards Hall of Fame induction ceremony will be held Thursday, October 28 and the Eddies Music Awards Show on Sunday, November 14. Both events will be staged at Universal Preservation Hall, home of the Eddies Music Hall of Fame.

For more information on the 2020 Eddies Music Awards visit their website.

Complete list of winners is below:

Music Journalist of the Year: Katie Cusack (The Collaborative)
Arts Publication of the Year: Nippertown
Radio DJ of the Year: Chris Wienk (WEXT)
Radio Station of the Year: WEXT
Photographer of the Year: Kiki Vassilakis 
Solo or Duo Artist of the Year (Covers): Erin Harkes
Party Cover Band of the Year: The Refrigerators
Country Cover Band of the Year: Skeeter Creek 
DJ of the Year: DJ Trumastr
Hip Hop/Rap Artist of the Year: JB aka Dirty Moses
Electronica Artist of the Year : Bare Mattress
World Music Artist of the Year: Taina Asili y La Banda Rebelde 
Classical Artist of the Year: Albany Pro Musica
Jazz Artist of the Year: Dylan Perrillo
On the Verge Presenter of the Year: Super Dark Collective
Promoter of the Year: Greg Bell (Guthrie Bell Productions
Live Production Crew of the Year: High Peaks Sound 
Music Recording Studio of the Year: Overit Studios 
Record Label of the Year: Five Kill Records
Best Hang: The Low Beat
Alt / Indie Artist of the Year : Candy Ambulance
Punk Artist / Hardcore Artist of the Year: Prince Daddy and the Hyena
Metal / Hard Rock Artist of the Year: The Clay People 
Jam Band of the Year nominees: Let’s Be Leonard
Blues Artist of the Year: Annie and the Hedonists
Americana Artist of the Year: Eastbound Jesus
Folk / Traditional Artist of the Year  : The Sea The Sea
R&B / Soul Artist of the Year: The Age
Country / Bluegrass Artist of the Year: The Gibson Brothers
Solo or Duo Artist of the Year: Jocelyn & Chris
Rock/Pop Artist of the Year : Girl Blue
Music Video of the Year: Jocelyn & Chris with “Outta My Head”
Record of the Year: Gibson Brothers with “Cool Drink of Water”
Album of the Year: Jocelyn and Chris with “The Fun in the Fight”

View a photo gallery of the evening by photographer Andrzej (Andre) Pilarczyk.

Comments are closed.