Reid Genauer Announces New Album, First Song with Original Strangefolk Lineup in 20 Years

Strangefolk’s Reid Genauer has announced a new album via a Kickstarter campaign. The album, entitled Conspire to Smile, will contain cover songs, a new Assembly of Dust song, “Amplified Messiah,” and the first recording from the original members of Strangefolk since 1998’s A Great Long While, called “Conspire to Smile.”

Kevin Bedford & Reid Genauer

The new album is credited to Reid Genauer & Folks and includes appearances from a who’s who of the jamband scene, including Aaron Maxwell, Adam Terrell, Andy Herrick, Dave Diamond, Elliot Peck, Erik Glockler, Jason Crosby, John Leccese, Jon Trafton LEBO, Luke Smith, Marc Friedman, Nate Wilson, Ryan Montbleau, Scott Law, Scott Metzger and others to be announced.

The official Kickstarter campaign to fund the album begins Feb. 1. In the meantime, you can catch Strangefolk in a series of performances this weekend. Friday Jan. 19, the band performs at the Waterville Opera House in Waterville, ME. Saturday Jan. 20 they perform at the Paradise Rock Club in Boston and Sunday, Jan. 21 at the Warehouse at FTC in Fairfield, CT.

Genauer describes the project as follows:

It’s a celebration of the power that each of us has in the telling of our shared story, a reminder that we all have way more in common than not. Our little community is geographically distributed throughout the country and amounts to some 30,000 people or so.  If each of us were to gain five minutes a week of peace of mind from this project we would create approximately 150,000 minutes or 2,500 hours/week of personal energy that can be used towards addressing our challenges rather than wallowing in them. I think about it as a social version of the Doppler effect. Like the ripple from a single drop of water if each of us touches even two people and they too Conspire To Smile, the impact and outcome will be profound.  My hope is that that each of us can use this project,  the songs and the broad intent, as a way of being that drop of water. Let’s take care of ourselves so we can in turn take care of others.

A working version of the Strangefolk track, “Conspire to Smile” was posted on Genauer’s Facebook page. You can view that below. The preliminary track list for the new album is as follows:

1. “Conspire To Smile”
2. “Amplified Messiah”
3. “Let Love Rule”
4. “All You Need Is Love”
5. “People Get Ready…”

Conspire To Smile (Rough Mix)

Have a listen to the first official rough mix of the title track for Conspire To Smile not surprisingly called "Conspire To Smile". It's in effect the first studio recording of the original lineup of @strangefolk since 1998. It features Elliott Peck of Midnight North on vocals. The Conspire To Smile Kickstarter begins Feb 1st. For more information visit my blog at Be shockingly positive – Reid

Posted by Reid Genauer on Monday, January 15, 2018

Comments are closed.