Joe Beard, Gary Lewis and Uncle Rog Among Inductees to Rochester Music Hall of Fame

The Rochester Music Hall of Fame 2017 announced the names of the 2017 inductees this week. The honorees are Samuel Adler, Joe Beard, Gary Lewis, Uncle Roger McCall, Greg Sullivan and the Penny Arcade, and Lewis Soloff. The induction ceremony, which will include several performances and tributes, takes place on April 30 at the historic Eastman Theatre.

Inductees (in alphabetical order):

Samuel Adler, celebrated classical composer and Eastman School of Music professor of composition from 1966 to 1995. With Adler in attendance, the Upton String Quartet with Yi-Yang Cheng on piano will perform his 1999 composition “Piano Quintet for Piano and String Quartet.”

Joe Beard, revered blues guitarist and vocalist, who has played with the likes of Son House, Muddy Waters, B.B. King, and John Lee Hooker. Joe Beard will perform at the ceremony, joined by his sons, Chris and Duane, and backed by house band Prime Time Funk.

Gary Lewis, frontman of Gary Lewis and the Playboys, peforming since the 1960’s, topping charts and selling millions of records worldwide. Gary Lewis and the Playboys will be performing some of their best hits.

Uncle Roger McCall, also known as “Uncle Rog,” the longest running DJ at a single station in the US (1973-2003) and hero to the local music scene, which he passionately promoted up until his murder during a robbery in 2003. Local musicians will peform a tribute to both Uncle Rog and Greg Sullivan.

Greg Sullivan and The Penny Arcade, the legendary rock club was opened in 1973 by Sullivan, who booked national acts and mentored local musicians. Sullivan died of a heart attack in 2014, and the plaque in his honor hangs on the now-closed Penny Arcade.

Lewis Soloff, Grammy Award-winning trumpeter for Blood, Sweat & Tears, and instructor at Juliard and Manhattan School of Music. Sorloff died of a heart attack in 2015. A tribute to Lew will be performed by David Clayton-Thomas, lead singer of Blood, Sweat, & Tears.

Tickets for the ceremony on April 30 are now on sale at the Eastman Theatre box office or online.