Pope Francis Set to Release First Album In November

While Pope Francis was en route to Madison Square Garden to say mass on Sept. 25, the Vatican announced a new album, Wake Up!, from His Holiness will be released on Nov. 27.  The album is available for pre-order on iTunes now.

The first single from the pontiff’s debut, titled “Wake Up! Go! Go! Forward!” was posted on Soundcloud earlier in the day:

“Wake Up! Go! Go! Forward!”

Prog Rock musician and former Van Der Graaf Generator collaborator Tony Pagliuca composed several tracks on the album. Producer Don Giulio Neroni has been the musical guiding force behind releases from Pope John Paul II and Pope Benedict XVI in addition to his work on the new Pope Francis venture.

Since being elected in 2013, Pope Francis has created a sense of renewed energy in the Catholic church and beyond. The creation of this album, using popular music, is another way for him to spread his message and is sure to top the charts upon release.

Pope Francis wrapped up his historic visit to the U.S. this past weekend in Philadelphia.

Wake Up! Track List

1. “Annuntio Vobis Gadium Mangum”
2. “Salve Regina”
3. “Laudato Sie…”
4. “Poe Que’ Sufren Los Ninos”
5. “Non Lasciatevi Rubare La Speranza!”
6. “La Iglesia No Puede Ser Una Ong!”
7. “Wake Up! Go! Go! Forward!”
8. “La Fa Es Entera, No Se Licua!”
9. “Pace! Fratelli!”
10. “Per La Famiglia”
11. “Fazei O Que Ele Vos Disser”


Music NewsPope Francis