Planet Afropunk Announces Lineup for Global Virtual Show

Planet Afropunk announces their lineup for their global virtual show. The free virtual show is taking place on October 23-25, 2020 and will include big names like Common, Mayra Andrade, Dua Saleh, Larissa Luz + Carlinhos Brown, Asiatica, Black Haus, Mc Yallah, T. Nava, Tciyf, Yves Tumor and many more. Planet Afropunk hopes to be a safe space for people to celebrate and inspire, cry and shout, and to heal and motivate one another during these trying times. 

Planet Afropunk plans to create new ways for people to experience the next generation of Black creativity, music and culture. They plan to do this by bringing together the largest virtual gathering of the worldwide Black creative community into one curated online space in 15 years. One of the reasons Planet Afropunk is able to be such a big global celebration is because of it’s partners. These partners will help power Afropunk’s iconic digital destinations and make it a one of a kind show this year. Some of the big names they are partnering with include VERIZON, BOSE, TEQUILA DON JULIO, Ideaville, powered by Target. VERIZON is helping to bring the artist lineup for AFROPUNK’S festival on the World Stage. BOSE is supporting the audience’s musical discovery journey through a special set from Masego, Serpentwithfeet and Jonah Mutono also on the World stage. TEQUILA DON JULIO 1942 who is powering sets by DJ Poison Ivy and DJ Ruckus. Ideaville, powered by Target, will spotlight Black voices and stories. They hope to succeed at doing this by creating a safe space for all of AFROPUNK’s communities. Part of their charge in doing this is by partnering with Penguin Random House to uplift Black voices by featuring a selection of NY-Times best-selling authors in our Rock N’ Read Bookstore and powering author readings and conversations. 

The full line up of musicians participating in the Planet Afropunk global virtual show include: Afrobapho, Afrocidade feat. Majur and Mahal Pita, Ari Lennox, Arka’n Asrafokor, ASIATICA, ÀTTØØXXÁ feat. Hiran, Balimaya Project, Blac Rabbit, BLACK HAÜS, Bongeziwe Mabandla, Bootsy Collins, Common, DJ Poison Ivy, DJ Ruckus, Dua Saleh, Duckwrth, DUMA, Duo B.A.V.I., Durand Bernarr, Ecko Bazz, Elaine, Jahmed, Johnny Cradle, Jonah Mutono, KIRBY, Larissa Luz + Carlinhos Brown, Loshh, Lous and the Yakuza, Masego, Mayra Andrade, MC Yallah, Mereba, Meshell N’Dege Ocello, Moonchild Sanelly, Moonga K., Moses Sumney, Muneyi, Muzi, Nêssa, Rebelmatic, Sampa The Great, Serpentwithfeet, Smino, Solo Ntsizwa Ka Mthimkhulu, Songhoy Blues, T. Nava, Tawiah, TCIYF, The Veldt, Theon Cross, Tiana Major9, Tiwa Savage, Tobe Nwigwe, Tomi Agape, TrapFunk & Alívio, Ukhoikhoi, Virus, Yan Cloud, Yves Tumor. 

There will also be some speakers at the event which will include Amanda Seales, Ashlee Marie Preston, Blerdcon, Bridget Todd, Dawn Richard, Dulcé Sloan, Ivie Anie, Jesse Williams, Maimouna Youssef AKA Mumu Fresh, Robert Glasper, Tamika D. Mallory, Terrace Martin.

People interested in attending and getting more information can visit Afropunk’s website. People who don’t want to miss any exclusives and updates on the event can RSVP here.

Comments are closed.