Grammy’s 2020 Lifetime Achievement Award Recipients Announced – Isaac Hayes, Public Enemy and Others to Be Honored

The 2020 Lifetime Achievement Award recipients have been announced by the Recording Academy and it features a heralded list of singers, songwriters, rappers and performers.

The recipients include, rock band Chicago, who is known for bringing jazz band-style horns into rock music, as well as numerous number one albums, one of which – Chicago Transit Authority – has been inducted into the Grammy Hall Of Fame.

lifetime achievement awardFourteen-time nominee, and four-time Grammy-winner, Roberta Flack, will also be a recipient. The songstress is known for number one records like “The First Time Ever I Saw Your Face,” and “Killing Me Softly with His Song.”

Soul singer-songwriter Isaac Hayes, already a member of the Songwriters and Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, will collect another nod to his legendary career.

Influential rocker, Iggy Pop, also known as the “Godfather of Punk,” is best known for his illustrious solo career, while also serving as the lead singer of proto-punk band, The Stooges. He will be on the receiving end of his very first Grammy-award, as a 2020 Special Merit recipient.

Folk singer/songwriter, John Prine, known for his humorous style of country music – will be collecting his third Grammy, the influential songwriter has also had his eponymous debut-album inducted into the Grammy Hall of Fame.

Hip-hop pioneers, Public Enemy,  known for their hard-hitting politically conscious lyrics and social commentary – will be awarded their very first Grammy win. The legendary group is best known for its classic LP It Takes A Nation of Millions to Hold Us Back in addition to the renowned protest anthem “Fight the Power,” which has been inducted into the Grammy Hall of Fame.

Sister Rosetta Tharpe, being awarded posthumously, was a gospel singer, with innate skills on the electric guitar. The singer-songwriter, somewhat under-appreciated, with only one Grammy nomination before her death in 1973, but not any less legendary, was also recognized as having the first gospel record to crossover on the R&B charts.

The Special Merit Award – also known as the Lifetime Achievement Award – is decided on by vote of the Recording Academy’s National Trustees, to performers who, during their lifetimes, have made creative contributions of outstanding artistic significance to the field of recording, according to the official Grammys website, with past recipients including the likes of – Dianna Ross, Stevie Wonder, Ray Charles and Miles Davis.

Comments are closed.