Neil Young’s ‘Storytone’ Hits on November 4

Neil Young’s latest release Storytone (Reprise Records), his thirty-fifth, is scheduled for release early next month. He’s sending it in two drastically different forms: one, his traditional acoustic, the other with full orchestration or an elaborate big band, some even with a choir. Both will be available as a two-disc deluxe edition. While Neil is known to radically head off in an unpredictable direction, this might hold a few surprises for his most ardent fans.

Photo Credit: Pegi Young
Photo Credit: Pegi Young

Topically it’s all Neil, hard-hitting environmental stances mixed with real-life experiences, channeled in “Who’s Gonna Stand Up”, “I’m Glad I Found You” and “When I Watch You Sleeping”. Either way, there are another ten new Neil tunes here that follow-up his earlier lo-fi offering in 2014, A Letter Home, which he produced with Jack White.

Track List:
1. Plastic Flowers
2. Who’s Gonna Stand Up?
3. I Want To Drive My Car
4. Glimmer
5. Say Hello To Chicago
6. Tumbleweed
7. Like You Used To Do
8. I’m Glad I Found You
9. When I Watch You Sleeping
10. All Those Dreams

Storytone is available to stream in its entirety on NPR ahead of its release on November 4th. A vinyl format will come December 16th. Pre-sales are available at the usual outlets and Neil’s website. Much like the mahogany laminated sound board from a Story & Clark ‘Storytone’ piano, Neil seems guaranteed against manufacturer defects for fifty years.

Comments are closed.