Alestorm is in studio

By: Carly Knaszak

Ahoy there! Pirate metal band Alestorm returns to the studio for a much-awaited fourth album to be titled Sunset on the Golden Age.

“This is gonna blow all your expectations as to what an Alestorm album is all about,” said Christopher Bowes (vocals & keytar) through a Freeman Promotions press release.

Currently, there is no date for release but once it is out it will serve as the follow-up to the band’s 2011 Napalm Records release of Back Through Time.

Alestorm is in the studio.   (Photo Credit: Freeman Promotions)
Alestorm is in the studio. (Photo Credit: Freeman Promotions)

Back Through Time was an 11-track album that any fan of this “True Scottish Pirate Metal” band would raise up a pint and sing along to rum influenced anthems. The album itself did not receive as much media coverage as it deserved. However fans of the band claim it is their favorite album. The song that caught the most attention from fans is “The Sunk’n Norwegian.”

One more drink at the Sunk’n Norwegian.
One more drink before we have to die

The mighty chorus belts out battle cries and last drinks before sailors face their deaths.

Alestorm did not leave their fans marooned after the release of Back Through Time. In January 2013, the band sailed back to Australia and released their first concert DVD, Live At The End of the World. The DVD contains the full band playing a 16-song set list, including hits ‘Keelhauled’, ‘Shipwrecked’ and ‘Death Throes of the Terrorsquid’.

The band was formed in early 2004 but performed under the name Blackheart. Originally, Blackheart was a two-man band that consisted of Gavin Harper and Christopher Bowes. Shortly after being signed to Napalm Records in 2007, they changed their name to Alestorm, as the band agreed that the original name, Blackheart, did not fit their musical style.

In 2008, they released their first album, Captain Morgan’s Revenge. That same year, Gavin Harper (guitarist and founding member) left the band and was replaced with Dani Evans. Gareth Murdock later joined as the bassist. The band’s original drummer, Ian Wilson left the band in 2010 and was replaced with Peter Alcorn. Back Through Time was Alcon’s first record playing for Alestorm. In 2011, Elliot Vernon joined as the band’s keyboard player.

Alestorm is now starting a new journey and they are now recording their fourth album in Lasse Lammert’s LSD-Studio in Lübeck, Germany.

“Over the past couple of years we’ve been writing non-stop, and we’ve come up with a ton of badass material,” Bowes stated through a Freeman Promotions press release. “Some of this stuff is catchiest pirate party anthems you’ve ever heard, with choruses that’ll make you want to raise a pint of rum up high and sing your guts out. And for the fans of the epic stuff, we’ve got some songs that hit the 10-minute mark, with lyrical themes about historical events and crazy mythological madness. It’s gonna rule!”

Fans should expect more updates in the next couple of months. Alestorm plan to release Sunset of The Golden Age in the early summer.

To keep up to date with Alestorm go to:

Comments are closed.