Steve Howe Leaves Asia

Asia, the super-group formed by Steve Howe, Geoff Downes, Carl Palmer and John Wetton sent along two press releases today. The first is announcing Howe’s departure from the legendary band to concentrate on his other musical projects and the second announcing his replacement and the band’s future plans.

Asia released their first lp in 1982, driven by hits like “The Heat of The Moment”, it spent nine weeks at the top of the Billboard charts riding on the pedigree of the band while helping the explosive growth of MTV. The band reunited in 2006 for a US tour, which was followed by several world and continental tours, the release of three cds, three dvds and numerous live albums. Their critically acclaimed release XXX marks the end of Howe’s tenure. Just a 30 year history or so, and it continues on. Howe said, “Myself and the band wish to thank our fans for the enthusiasm shown during the original members’ reunion. I will continue with Yes, my trio and solo guitar works. I wish my friends continued success”.

2013 will be a new chapter in Asia’s history as newcomer Sam Coulson joins the band to fill Howe’s shoes on guitar. Sam is well known and world-renowned with virtuoso players. Asia will be touring and recording a new album titled “Valkyrie” cementing their relationship with new label, Frontier Records. Sweden Rock 2013 will mark Sam’s first international gig with the band, no pressure man.

Comments are closed.