Nathan Lane and André Bishop To Be Honored at This Year’s Drama Desk Awards

This year’s Drama Desk Awards will honor Nathan Lane and André Bishop for their contributions to New York City theater on June 10. André Bishop will receive the William Wolf Award, and Nathan Lane will receive the Harold S. Prince Award.

The Drama Desk Awards have brought theater critics and writers together since 1949. The Awards began in 1955 to honor New York’s theater, including productions on and off-Broadway. The Awards’ impartiality is a source of pride for the organization, with 100 theater critics, reporters, writers, and arts editors voting on the winners.

Nathan Lane’s prolific career through film, television, and theater has earned him the Harold S. Prince Award. Honoring the legendary director, the Harold S. Prince Award recognizes lifetime achievement in theater. Lane has performed in 25 Broadway productions, including Guys and Dolls, The Addams Family, and most recently, Pictures from Home.

As longtime artistic director and producing artistic director of Lincoln Center, André Bishop has produced multiple significant projects. During his 33-year tenure at Lincoln Center, Bishop worked with leading playwrights, composers, and lyricists. As Playwrights Horizons’ creative director, Bishop also produced three Pulitzer Prize winning plays.

The Awards will be hosted June 10th at the NYU Skirball Center, 556 LaGuardia Place. Tickets for the event are limited, but a request can be submitted through the following link.

Kathleen Turner announced the nominations for all the Drama Desk Awards on New York Live.

Comments are closed.