National Yiddish Theatre Folksbiene Presents “A Yiddish Renaissance”

The National Yiddish Theatre Folksbiene will present A Yiddish Renaissance this summer. In recognition of this resurgence in interest, the 107-year-old will bring together more than 140 actors and musicians from here at home and across the globe. The two-hour event will showcase some of Folksbiene’s most memorable musical numbers, but also celebrate the life of its Artistic Director, Zalmen Mlotek.

National Yiddish Theatre

The benefit concert – debuting on July 26th at 2:00 PM (ET) and available to view through July 30th at 2:00 PM (ET) – will feature some of the most memorable hits from NYTF’s critically acclaimed and award-winning productions as well as sneak peeks of upcoming productions. Stars from across the United States, Israel, England, Germany, Scotland, and the Netherlands will share the screen together. 

A Yiddish Renaissance: A Virtual Concert Celebration will pay tribute to Mlotek in celebration of his 70th birthday and 50-year career dedicated to Yiddish music and theatre. As he developed new productions and introduced young actors and singers to Yiddish theatre, Mlotek has brought NYTF to new heights as one of New York’s premiere off-Broadway theatre companies and to international recognition, including bringing Joel Grey-directed Fiddler on the Roof in Yiddish to life at the Museum of Jewish Heritage – A Living Memorial to the Holocaust, and then moving it uptown to Stage 42 Off-Broadway.

Among those directing and editing the special presentation are: Joanne Borts, Ben Liebert, Stephanie Lynne Mason, Elisha Mlotek, Merete Muenter, Tony Perry, Eleanor Reissa, Allen Lewis Rickman, and Adam B. Shapiro. And the event features musical arrangements by Frank London and D. Zisl Slepovitch. 

The stellar cast to date includes: Bob Ader; Aaron Alexander; Glenn Seven Allen; Michael Alpert; Zoë Aqua; Jennifer Babiak; Nanci Belmont; Alan Bern; Joanne Borts; Alexandrina Boyanova; Stuart Breczinski; Lauren Brody; Mark Broschinsky; Rebecca Brudner; Mendy Cahan; Clyde Daley; Peter DelGrosso; Josh “Socalled” Dolgin; Charlie Dresdner; Johnny Dresdner; Sruli Dresdner; Michael Einav; Lisa Fishman; Cantor Magda Fishman; Audrey Flores; Elise Frawley; Alexandra Frohlinger; Kirk Geritano; John Giesige; Brian Glassman; Abby Goldfarb; Sarah Mina Gordon; Joel Grey; Samantha Hahn; Stephen Mo Hanan; Richard Harrell; Stacey Harris; Cantor Netanel Hershtik; Jordan Hirsch; Avi Hoffman; Jackie Hoffman; Dmitry Ishenko; Maya Jacobson; Cameron Johnson; Josh Johnson; Daniel Kahn; Andrew Keltz; Rebecca Keren; Ben Kiley; Sophie Knapp; Rebecca Levy; Ben Liebert; Daniel Linden; Shura Lipovsky; Frank London; Joseph Mace; Dani Marcus; Stephanie Lynne Mason; Lisa Mayer; Evan Mayer; Laura Melnicoff; Avram Mlotek; Elisha Mlotek; Ravi Mlotek; Sarah Mlotek; Zalmen Mlotek; Rosie Jo Neddy; Oren Neiman; Raquel Nobile; Tony Park; Tony Perry; Rachel Policar; Jonathan Quigley; Daniella Rabbani; Nick Raynor; Bruce Rebold; Eleanor Reissa; Grant Richards; Allen Lewis Rickman; Jenny Romaine; Bruce Sabath; Peter Saleh; Marissa Mlotek Schonbrun; Hannah Scott; Kayleen Seidl; Drew Seigla; Adam B. Shapiro; Merlin Shepherd; Polina Shepherd; Yelena Shmulenson; Valeriya Sholokhova; Jake Shulman-Ment; Lorin Sklamberg; Steven Skybell; D. Zisl Slepovitch; Dinah Slepovitch; Jodi Snyder; Steve Sterner; James Monroe Števko; Deborah Strauss; Ron Tal; Matt Temkin; Ira Khonen Temple; Lauren Jeanne Thomas; Una Tone, Bobby Underwood; Cantor Jeff Warschauer; Tatiana Wechsler; Michael Winograd; Mikhl Yashinsky; and, Rachel Zatcoff.

Presenting hits from Award-Winning NYTF Productions, featuring casts from Fiddler Afn Dakh (Fiddler on the Roof in Yiddish), Di Goldene Kale (The Golden Bride), On Second Avenue, Di Yam Gazlonim (Yiddish Pirates of Penzance), Amerike The Golden Land, Soul to Soul, Kids and Yiddish, and more.

The event is produced by NYTF’s Associate Artistic Director Motl Didner, creator of the hit online show “15 Minute Yiddish.” The full cast of presenters and performers will be announced in the coming weeks.

Registration is required at and you can visit the website for more information about all participants.

Comments are closed.