Led Zeppelin Releases Alt. Version Of Stairway to Heaven

Thirty-three years later, Led Zeppelin has released an alternate version to their now uber-classic, “Stairway To Heaven”. This rendition, also recorded at Sunset Sound in Los Angeles, offers a warmer, gentler version of the tune, with slightly less twang in favor of more subdued details. The tone seems to be more dream-like, with minor details added throughout and dialed in mid-range fuzz accompanying the definitive guitar licks. An overarching statement of “Stairway To Heaven” could be that this version ‘rounded the pointy edges’; some of the bite is gone from the original version, but the trade-off is more meditative and psychedelic.

The new track precedes October 28 deluxe reissue of Led Zeppelin IV and House of The Holy, which were remastered by Jimmy Page and will include an additional record of new music. Both albums will be available in CD, digital and vinyl formats. The band also re-released Led Zepplin through Led Zeppelin III in June, so they appear to be making their way through the entire catalogue.

Led Zeppelin IV Deluxe Reissue Tracklist:

Disc One:
01. Black Dog
02. Rock And Roll
03. The Battle of Evermore
04. Stairway To Heaven
05. Misty Mountain Hop
06. Four Sticks
07. Going To California
08. When The Levee Breaks

Disc Two:
01. Black Dog – Basic Track With Guitar Overdubs
02. Rock And Roll – Alternate Mix
03. The Battle Of Evermore – Mandolin/Guitar Mix From Headley Grange
04. Stairway To Heaven – Sunset Sound Mix
05. Misty Mountain Hop – Alternate Mix
06. Four Sticks – Alternate Mix
07. Going To California – Mandolin/Guitar Mix
08. When The Levee Breaks – Alternate UK Mix

Houses of the Holy
 Deluxe Reissue Tracklist:

Disc One:
01. The Song Remains The Same
02. The Rain Song
03. Over The Hills And Far Away
04. The Crunge
05. Dancing Days
06. D’yer Mak’er
07. No Quarter
08. The Ocean

Disc Two:
01. The Song Remains The Same – Guitar Overdub Reference Mix
02. The Rain Song – Mix Minus Piano
03. Over The Hills And Far Away – Guitar Mix Backing Track
04. The Crunge – Rough Mix – Keys Up
05. Dancing Days – Rough Mix With Vocal
06. No Quarter – Rough Mix With JPJ Keyboard Overdubs – No Vocal
07. The Ocean – Working Mix

Comments are closed.