Smashing Pumpkins Announce New Album, Release Lead Single “Being Beige”

SMASHPUMPNineties alt-rock stalwarts Smashing Pumpkins have announced a December 9 release date for their 8th studio effort Monuments to an Elegy. Produced by Howard Willing (from the Adore sessions), Elegy features the lineup of founding member Billy Corgan along with guitarist Jeff Schroeder – who joined in 2007 – and new drummer Tommy Lee. Yes, THE Tommy Lee of Motley Crue fame.  The announcement also includes a first chance for fans to check out the single “Being Beige”, a melancholy song that will remind fans of sessions from the record bearing that name.

[soundcloud url=”″ params=”color=ff5500&auto_play=false&hide_related=false&show_comments=true&show_user=true&show_reposts=false” width=”100%” height=”166″ iframe=”true” /]

Regarding Mr Lee’s ubiquitous presence on the album, Billy had the following to say – “The songs, in demo form, had a strut, and so the suggestion was made that we ought to get someone who ‘plays like’ Tommy. Jeff Schroeder said, ‘why not get the real deal?’  Tommy brings the power and grace he’s known for, which gives the music a vibrancy that is both immediate and unmistakable.”

Fan’s may pre-order the album now on iTunes. A second album – Day for Night – is already in the works. No touring plans were announced as of yet. Stay tuned!

Monuments to an Elegy track listing:

1. Tiberius
2. Being Beige
3. Anaise!
4. One and All
5. Run2me
6. Drum + Fife
7. Monuments
8. Dorian
9. Anti-Hero