Pink Floyd Reveals Details For ‘The Endless River’

Pink Floyd has unveiled the cover art and track-listings for their upcoming double-album The Endless River which is being released November 10th. The title harkens back to the penultimate lyric from “High Hopes”, the final song on The Division Bell, Pink Floyd’s last album in 1993. It was originally mistaken to be a David Gilmour solo album.


The album, as described by Nick Mason is, “This record is a good way of recognizing a lot of what Rick does and how his playing was at the heart of the Pink Floyd sound. Listening back to the sessions, it really brought home to me what a special player he was.” David Gilmour says, “We listened to over 20 hours of the three of us playing together. Over the last year we’ve added new parts, re-recorded others and generally harnessed studio technology to make a 21st century Pink Floyd album. With Rick gone, and with him, the chance of ever doing it again, it feels right that these revisited and reworked tracks should be made available as part of our repertoire”.

The album has been produced by David Gilmour, Phil Manzanera, Youth and Andy Jackson. Manzanera co-wrote ‘One Slip’ for Pink Floyd’s Momentary Lapse of Reason album in 1987, co-produced Gilmour’s On an Island project and has toured with the guitarist several times. Youth, meanwhile, is part of the Orb, an ambient-house band that Gilmour worked with on 2010’s Metallic Spheres. Jackson, who’s ‘Big Spliff’ composition also makes up a small part of The Endless River, has been a recording engineer for Pink Floyd on every album since 1979’s The Wall.

The Endless River will be primarily instrumental with lyrics written by Polly Sampson, Gilmour’s wife, on the track ‘Louder Than Words’, that strike to the core of Pink Floyd’s history with founding and departed member Roger Waters.

“We bitch and we fight, but this thing that we do, it’s louder than words.”

There is a 30 second clip available on the band’s website along with ways to pre-order the different editions that will be available.

Track List

Side 1
Things Left Unsaid
It’s What We Do
Ebb And Flow

Side 2

Side 3
The Lost Art Of Conversation
On Noodle Street
Night Light
Allons-y (1)
Autumn ‘68
Allons-y (2)
Talkin’ Hawkin’

Side 4
Eyes To Pearls
Louder Than Words