POP EVIL Ready to Blow the Crowd Away at ROTR

pop-evil-001-credit-jamyme-thornton-From Grand Rapids, Michigan, Pop Evil returns to Rock on the Range to make their mark for the third time since their last performance in 2011.

Pop Evil wasn’t always known as Pop Evil. Before in 2001, the band was called TenFive when Leigh Kakaty started it and they were formed through different Michigan bands. In the years 2004 and 2006, the band released two EPs independently, War of the Roses and Ready or Not. By November 2007, the band signed with G&G Entertainment and that same year, they lost their bassist, Jaime Nummer, and Matt DiRito joined as the band’s current bassist.  Pop Evil’s debut album, Lipstick on the Mirror, was released August 2008, featuring the singles, “Hero”, “Somebody Like You”, “100 in a 55”, and “Stepping Stone”. In 2010, Pop Evil announced their third record was in the works then at a concert in Columbus, Ohio, the band symbolically ripped their contract with Universal Republic to work with eOne, and there, they announced the release date of the new album, War of Angels, which dropped in July 2011. During that year, former drummer, Dylan Allison suffered a neck injury and was forced to quit the band. Josh “Chachi Riot” Marunde filled in as the current drummer. On April 6, 2012, Pop Evil announced the departure of their former guitarist, Tony Greve, who was quickly replaced with Nick Fuelling. As of May 14, 2013, the band released their fourth record, Onyx, with the two leading singles, “Trenches” and “Goodbye My Friend”.

Check out the band’s latest record and this is one band you will not want to miss this weekend.

Comments are closed.