METALLICA releases Beyond Magnetic EP

Metallica have released a four-song EP, titled Beyond Magnetic, today. The four previously unreleased tracks were recorded during sessions for their 2008 Death Magnetic album, but didn’t make the cut at the time. The EP will be available exclusively on iTunes for one week only.

“During the Death Magnetic album sessions in 2007 and 2008, we originally recorded 14 songs,” said the band in a statement. “When it came time to pick the songs for the final album, we decided on 10 songs that you’ve all come to know over the last three years. Some of you may have heard bits and pieces of those other songs on ‘Mission Metallica’ (remember ‘Mission Metallica’?!) or heard rumors about them during the recording process, and wondered, What ever happened to those other four songs???.

“We kept them in the vault and decided to pull them just for this special celebration, so here are the four leftover tracks from the Death Magnetic sessions. They are ROUGH mixes, unfinished to their original degree of mixing from March ’08. These four songs were released as gift to our closest fans, the members of our Fan Club, to enjoy. Now they’re being made available to you.”

The thrash legends played one of the tracks each night during their 30th anniversary celebration concerts at the Fillmore in San Francisco last week. The band were joined for the performances by a host of special guests, including former members Dave Mustaine and Jason Newsted, Ozzy Osbourne, Rob Halford, Jerry Cantrell, Glenn Danzig, and Kid Rock. The shows closed with drummer Lars Ulrich telling fans to anticipate news in mid-January, 2012, about something special happening next June.”

Beyond Magnetic Track List:

1. “Hate Train”
2. “Just A Bullet Away”
3. “Hell And Back”
4. “Rebel Of Babylon”


-David Garlow

Comments are closed.