Caroga Lake Music Festival Begins, Announces Sherman’s Legacy Campaign

The Caroga Arts Collective began its 11th season of the Caroga Lake Music Festival, featuring 35 concerts, 20 guest artists, and almost 100 resident artists. The collective also announced its new Sherman’s Legacy Campaign.

This season’s festival marks the first time since 2019 that the Caroga Arts Ensemble returns as a full orchestra. The orchestra will perform a variety of music, including Beethoven’s 7th Symphony.

Guest artists include the talents of The Bacon Brothers, guitarist Cory Wong, vocalist Robyn Adele Anderson, and electric guitarist Brandon “Taz” Niederauer, among others. Saxophonist Eddie Barbash, Rushad Eggleston, and Mike Block Trio will also all return to Caroga Lake during the season.

Bill Charlap Trio at Caroga Music Festival – 8-4-2019

Local artists, such as Jocelyn & Chris, North & South Dakotas, FLAME! The Band, Erin Harkes, and others will also make an appearance throughout the summer. Caroga Arts will also be visiting various venues in the area, including The Glove Theatre, The Arkell Museum, Sacandaga Valley Arts Network, Mohawk Valley Center for the Arts, and more.

In addition to the festival going on its 11th season, the Caroga Arts Collective also recently launched the public phase of its Sherman’s Legacy Campaign. As part of phase 1 of a multi-phase project, a new amphitheater is set to be built next to the original Sherman’s building, as is a new year-round artist’s home at Myhill.

Ariel view of the new amphitheater and stagehouse after phase one is complete. Rendering by Lacey Thaler Reilly Wilson

The new amphitheater offers audiences, artists, and visitors a new space and iconic landmark to visit within the town of Caroga. The Myhill property will allow for critically-needed housing for artists, offices, teaching spaces, and spaces for the community to gather.

We are thrilled that these state-of-the-art venues will carry forward the legacy of the Sherman’s Park, attracting artists and audiences of all genres and backgrounds to Caroga for world-class entertainment and a slice of the Adirondacks … both properties have incredible artistic roots, drawing artists such as Fletcher Henderson, Jimmie Lunceford, Irving Berlin and Elvis Presley to the shores of Caroga during the early- to mid-twentieth century.

– Kyle Price, Founder and Artistic Director of Caroga Arts Collective

The new Sherman’s amphitheater and the Myhill residence are expected to start in the spring of 2023, as long as the collective is able to raise enough money for the $5 million-dollar project. Currently Caroga Arts Collective has already raised $2.7 million. For more information about the festival, or Sherman’s Legacy Campaign, visit Caroga Art’s Collective website.


Sherman’s Park at Night with new Amphitheater. Rendering by Lacey Thaler Reilly Wilson. 

For the full list of events that the Caroga Arts Collective offers, see below.

Sherman’s Concerts

Sat, May 28 – Memorial Day Weekend Concert, Jocelyn & Chris, Insolent Willies

Fri, Jul 1 – American Modern Opera Company, Utica Dance with Keir GoGwilt

Sat, Jul 2 – Red, White, BLUES & BLUEGRASS, North & South Dakotas, FLAME! The Band, Erin Harkes

Sat, Jul 16 – 80’s Metal Night: The Ultimate 80’s Rock Show with Tommy V Live

Wed, Jul 20 – Sam Reider & The Human Hands

Fri, Jul 22 – Caroga Arts Gala with Eddie Barbash & KASA Quartet

Sat, Jul 23 – Cory Wong with Caroga Arts Ensemble, Mike Block Trio

Wed, Jul 27 – Rushad Eggleston

Fri, Jul 29 – Caroga Arts Ensemble Reimagining Beethoven and Shostakovich

Sat, Jul 30 – The Bacon Brothers Out of Memory Tour with Caroga Arts Ensemble

Wed, Aug 3 – Robyn Adele Anderson 

Sat, Aug 6 – Kids Carousel Concert: Bill & Finnegan Ackerbauer

Sat, Aug 6 – Sherman’s JazzFest (Artists to be announced)

Wed, Aug 10 – Afro-Caribbean Jazz Collective

Fri, Aug 12 – Caroga Arts Ensemble plays Beethoven’s Symphony No. 7

Sat, Aug 13 – SAUNDERSFEST (Artists to be announced)

Fri, Aug 19 – Scenes & Stories from the Opera, Caroga Arts Ensemble conducted by Matthew Aucoin

Sat, Aug 20 – Kids Carousel Concert: Cara’s Caterpillars 

Sat, Aug 20 – Marvin and his Music: A Celebration of America’s Composer featuring guest vocalists and the Caroga Arts Ensemble led by J. Ernest Green

Sun, Aug 21 – Brandon “Taz” Niederauer

Sat, Sep 3 – Labor Day weekend concert, The Ultimates! with fireworks following the show

Fri, Sep 30 – Celebrating Hispanic Heritage Month with Alex Torres & His Latin Orchestra with salsa dancing lessons prior to show and more

Linda Chesis, Alexandre Moutouzkine, Romie de Guise-Langlois “For the Birds” – 10-6-2019

Caroga Lake Music Festival On Tour

Thu, Jul 21 – Caroga Arts Ensemble featuring Eddie Barbash at Mohawk Valley Center for the Arts

Sun, Jul 24 – Caroga Arts Ensemble featuring Eddie Barbash at Peck’s Lake Marina 

Thu, Jul 28 – Caroga Arts Ensemble at The Glove Theater

Thu, Aug 4 – Caroga Arts Ensemble at The Arkell Museum

Fri, Aug 5 – CLMF Returns to its Roots: Caroga Chapel 100th Anniversary

Sun, Aug 7 – Caroga Chapel 100th Anniversary Service

Sun, Aug 7 – Caroga Arts Ensemble at Mayfield Presbyterian Church, presented by SVAN

Thu, Aug 11 – Caroga Arts Ensemble at Johnstown Midsummer Concert Series

Sun, Aug 14 – The Barge at Canada Lake Store & Marine

Tue, Aug 16 – Caroga Arts Ensemble at The Otesaga Resort Hotel, presented by Cooperstown Summer Music Festival

Thu, Aug 18 – Caroga Arts Ensemble at Caroga Museum 

Sat, Aug 27 – Caroga Arts Ensemble at Maverick Concerts

Sun, Aug 28 – KASA Quartet, Postlude at Maverick Concerts

Lysander Trio “Slavic Serenade” 8-18-2019

Caroga Arts Special Events

Fri, Jul 22 – Caroga Arts Gala with Eddie Barbash & KASA Quartet

The Caroga Arts Collective Gala is the largest fundraising event of the year, providing vital support for the daily operations of the organization. For more information and tickets, visit: www.carogaarts.org/gala

Sat, Aug 13 – Caroga Cornhole Classic hosted by WCLA & Caroga Arts Collective

Sun, Aug 21 – Fourth Annual Caroga Arts Golf Outing

Support Caroga Arts and join us for a fun day of golf at the beautiful Nick Stoner Municipal Golf Course! For more information, visit: www.carogaarts.org/golf

Sat, Sep 24 – Summer Wine Down

Caroga Arts CollectiveCaroga Lake Music FestivalMusic News