Eddies Music Hall of Fame To Induct 8 Capital Region Legends

The Eddies Music Hall of Fame has announced its 2022 class, featuring eight legends of the Capital District music scene.

Universal Preservation Hall. (Jenn March, Special to the Times Union).

The group will be inducted at 6 p.m. Tuesday, June 7 at Universal Preservation Hall.

Eddies Music Hall of Fame founder Jim Murphy spoke in a statement, expressing how excited he is to induct this new class.

This class truly represents the breadth of the region’s music scene. In artists we have everything from roots to rock to ambient music and on the industry side, a much-heralded music producer, two journalists, a radio station founder, and a promoter. Several of these individuals plied more than one trade within the music business.

The ceremony will feature live music, videos about each inductee, and acceptance speeches. Each inductee will get their plaque too.

The 2022 class joins a group of 16 previous inductees that includes 1930s and 40s pop music sensations Bob and Ray Eberle, folk/Celtic artist Kevin McKrell, and John Sykes, cofounder of MTV and current chairman of the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, and many more.

The Inductees

Sara Ayers

Sara Ayers is a vocalist-composer, with a catalogue of eight works and also has appeared on dozens of compilations. Her and her husband Greg Haymes launched the online publication Nippertown in 2009.

Greg Bell

Greg Bell has had a serious impact on the Albany music scene. He has produced more than 2,500 shows and established the city as a major jam band tour stop. He also taught special education for 26 years. He joined forces with Jeff Guthrie in 1993, forming Guthrie/Bell Productions.

Brooks Brown

Brooks Brown moved to Manchester, VT in the late 1970s from Houston and noticed the lack of a radio station. He created WEQX, which broadcasts new music to southern Vermont, New Hampshire, western Massachusetts and New York’s Capital Region.

Michael Eck.

Albany-native Michael Eck is full of all sorts of musical talent. He is a nationally recognized cultural critic and guitar brand editor, a concert/radio/album producer, publicist, painter, bouncer, roadie, record store clerk, and much more.

Joel Moss

Joel Moss has worked as a record producer, sound engineer, and mixer for Little Richard, Ray Charles, Elton John, The Beach Boys, and more. He engineered sound for over 200 movies and helped produce many Broadway cast albums. He is the recipient of an Academy Award, seven Grammys, and two Emmy nominations. Today he is a broadcast sound and camera technician at Cafe Lena in Saratoga.

Greg Haymes

Greg Haymes was the frontman and percussionist in 2020 Eddies Music Hall of Fame inductee Blotto and was a member of The Star-Spangled Washboard Band and the Ramblin Jug Stompers. He was a newspaper journalist, and with his wife, Sara Ayers launched the online publication Nippertown in 2009.

Rich Ortiz

Rich Ortiz is an acoustic solo act, who plays six- and twelve-string guitar, harmonica, and pedal bass. He has released two albums and opened for Chicago, REO Speedwagon, and more. When not performing, Ortiz is competing professionally in fishing tournaments.

Super 400

Super 400 is made up of drummer Joe Daley, guitarist Kenny Hohman, and bassist Lori Friday. The Troy-based trio formed in 1996 and their self-titled debut was released on Island Records two years later. They have toured internationally, and Troy’s mayor even declared February 25 as “Super 400 Day.” They opened Troy Music Academy in 2011 and have scored music for many TV shows.

Eddies Music Hall of Fame