25th Annual Chenango Blues Festival Features North Mississippi Allstars with John Medeski

Preferred Mutual’s Chenango Blues Festival, will celebrate it’s 25th anniversary this summer from the Chenango County Fairgrounds in Norwich on August 18-19. Friday night’s event is free for everyone.

Playing on the Frontier Communications Stage during Friday night’s festival are Lil’ Ed & the Blues Imperials, who have released nine albums in their almost 30-year career. Also appearing during the opening night is Dawn Taylor Watson with the Ben Racine Band and Reverend Shawn Amos.

Performing Saturday on the Kerry Bio-Science Infield Stage will be the North Mississippi Allstars with special guest John Medeski. The North Mississippi Allstars have been nominated for three Grammy awards in 2000, 2001, and 2005, all for “Best Contemporary Blues Album.” Other artists performing on the KBSI Stage will include Tommy Castro and the Painkillers with special guest Magic Dick, The Mannish Boys, Muddy Magnolias, and Gracie Curran & the High Faultin’ Band.

Music lovers can also head over to the Nelsen & Flanagan/Grouse Ridge Kennel Tent Stage where Victor Wainwright and the Wild Roots will be performing. Wainwright has won the Blues Music Award for “Pinetop Perkins Piano Player of the Year,” in 2013 and 2014. He has also won Blues Music Awards for “Band of the Year,” and Entertainer of the Year,” in 2016. Also performing on the NFGRKT Stage will be the Ghost Town Blues Band, Jason Ricci and JJ Appleton, and Alvin Youngblood Hart.

Chenango Blues Festival Set Times: (Artists and times subject to change.)

Fri., Aug. 18

6:00 – 7:00 p.m. – Reverend Shawn Amos
7:15 – 8:30 p.m. – Dawn Tyler Watson with the Ben Racine Band
9:00 – 10:30 p.m. – Lil’ Ed & the Blues Imperials

Sat., Aug 19

11:30 – 12:45 p.m. – Gracie Curran & the High Falutin’ Band
1:45 – 3:00 p.m.- Muddy Magnolias
4:00 – 5:15 p.m. – Mannish Boys
6:15 – 7:30 p.m.- Tommy Castro & The Painkillers wsg Magic Dick
8:45 – 10:30 p.m. – North Mississippi Allstars wsg John Medeski

12:45 – 1:45 p.m. – Alvin Youngblood Hart
3:00 – 4:00 p.m. – Jason Ricci and JJ Appleton
5:15 – 6:15 p.m. – Ghost Town Blues Band
7:30 – 8:45 p.m. – Victor Wainwright and the Wild Roots

Alvin Youngblood HartBen Racine BandbluesChenangoDawn Taylor Watsonfestival newsGhost Town Blues BandGracie Curran & the High Faultin' BandJason Ricci and JJ Appletonjohn medeskiLil' Ed & The Blues ImperialsMagic Dickmuddy magnoliasMusic Newsnorth mississippi allstarsNYS MusicReverend Shawn AmosThe Mannish BoysTommy Castro and the PainkillersVictor Wainwright and the Wild Roots