Chrissie Hynde Presents New Collection of Bob Dylan Songs

Chrissie Hynde has announced a new album of original Bob Dylan covers. Standing In The Doorway: Chrissie Hynde Sings Bob Dylan arrives via BMG at all DSPs and streaming services on May 21. 

During lockdown, the artist recorded remotely nine Dylan interpretations with her Pretenders bandmate James Walbourne. The album includes interpretations of Dylan’s songs “You’re a Big Girl Now.” “Love Minus Zero / No Limit,” Don’t Fall Apart on Me Tonight,” and “Every Grain of Sand.” All of which were recorded last year. 

The nine-track collection was nearly made exclusively via back and forth text messages. Additionally, Walbourne would record an initial idea on his phone and send it off to Hynde to add her vocals. Grammy Award-winning producer/engineer/mixer Tchad Blake (The Black Keys, Fiona Apple) mixed the new versions. After all the collaboration, the works premiered on the Pretenders’ YouTube channel

This process began a few weeks into lockdown when Walbourne sent Hynde the new Dylan track, “Murder Most Foul.” The impact of the song changed everything for Hynde. She connected to every reference that track had and after listening, her mood was also lifted.

Chrissie Hynde Shares her Inspiration:

Whatever Bob does, he still manages somewhere in there to make you laugh because as much as anything, he’s a comedian. He’s always funny and always has something to say. I called James and said, ‘Let’s do some Dylan covers,’ and that’s what started this whole thing.

The process behind Standing In The Doorway: Chrissie Hynde Sings Bob Dylan is featured in the new documentary, Tomorrow Is A Long Time. This documentary premieres exclusively via the UK’s Sky Arts channel on May 24. This work by International Emmy Award-winning filmmakers Michael Nunn and Billy Trevitt will commence the celebration of Dylan’s 80th birthday.   

CD and vinyl LP release will take place on August 20. The pre-order is available here.

Bob DylanChrissie HyndeNew Album