The Capital Region’s Thomas Edison Music Awards Nominees Announced

NYS Music named in the Arts Publication of the Year category.

The Thomas Edison Music Awards will be taking place at 6 p.m. on Sunday, April 14 at Proctor’s in Schenectady

Thomas Edison is widely known for his invention of the phonograph. This piece of technology brought music to the world through it’s ability to produce sound rather than simply record it. Consequently, The National Academy of Recording arts and Sciences discussed naming its award “the Eddie.” However, they opted towards the gramophone instead.

The event held in his name is set to take place at Proctor’s in Schenectady and is meant to empower and shed light on professionals who work in the Capital Region’s diverse music scene.

Salvatore Prizio, creator of The Eddies alongside Jim Murphy and Capital Records Live!, said, “The spirit of the Eddies is to recognize all of those who work so hard, day-in and day-out, to entertain the Capital Region and beyond.”

Over 80 nominees will be judged by more than 60 luminaries including journalists, educators, performers, sound technicians, and club owners. Nominees vary from soloists to group members, teachers to photographers, and extend all the way to engineers.

The ceremony will include two inductions into the Eddies New York Music Hall of Fame: an Artist Lifetime Achievement Award and an Arts Educator Award for Impact on the Community. Furthermore, a People’s Choice Award will be granted for Local Concert of the Year and Artist of the Year.

Tickets for the event are available at the Proctor’s box office, 432 State Street, Schenectady, for $20 in advance and $25 at the door. They can also be purchased by phone at 518.346.6204 or through the Proctors website.

2019 Capital Region Thomas Edison Music Awards nominees:

Solo Artist of the Year:

The Age

Girl Blue

Sawyer Fredericks

Pink Noise

Sean Rowe

Buggy Jive

Solo or Duo Performer of the Year (Covers Category):

Alicia Bautista

Chris Dollard

Erin Harkes

Rich Ortiz

PJ Duo

Mia Scirocco

Alt/Indie Artist of the Year:

Bear Grass

Blue Ranger

Girl Blue

Sean Rowe

The Sea The Sea

Wild Adriatic

Hip Hop/Rap Artist of the Year:

Airline Jay


Johnny 2 Phones

KATANI Ohzhe Promise the Unbreakable

Party Cover Band of the Year:

The AudioStars

Funk Evolution

Garland Nelson and Soul Session

New York Players

The Refrigerators

Skeeter Creek

Jazz Artist of the Year:

Michael Benedict Jazz Vibes

Teresa Broadwell Band

Cliff Brucker

Chuck Lamb

George Muscatello

Brian Patneaude Quartet

DJ of the Year:

DJ Element

DJ Ketchup

DJ Siroc

DJ Tall Ass Matt


DJ Trumastr

Country/Bluegrass Artist of the Year:

Big Sky Country

Eastbound Jesus

Jim Gaudet and the Railroad Boys

The Gibson Brothers

Ramblin Jug Stompers

Skeeter Creek

Americana Artist of the Year:

Annie and the Hedonists

The McKrells

Andrew Mirabile

The North & South Dakotas

Olivia Quillio

Red Haired Strangers

Rock/Pop Artist of the Year:

The Abyssmals

The Parlor

Pony in the Pancake

The Sea The Sea

Victory Soul Orchestra

Wild Adriatic

Punk/Metal/Hard Rock Artist of the Year:

Candy Ambulance

The Clay People

Drug Church


Prince Daddy & the Hyena


Jam Band of the Year:


The Deadbeats

Formula 5

Let’s Be Leonard


Ramblers Home

Blues Artist of the Year:

Annie and the Hedonists

Mark Tolstrup

Wild Adriatic

Andrew Wheeler

Thomasina Winslow

Alana Wyld/Wyld Blu

RnB/Soul Artist of the Year:

The Age

Garland Nelson

NXNES Pink Noise

Souly Had

Victory Soul Orchestra

Electronica Artist of the Year:

Apostrophe S

Sara Ayers

Bell’s Roar

Lip Talk


Silica Angel

International/World Music Artist of the Year:

Taina Asili y La Banda Rebelde

Golfstrom Jorge Gomez—Tiempo Libre

Heard Alex Torres & His Latin Orchestra

Maria Zemantauski

Classical Artist/Ensemble of the Year:

Albany Pro Musica Albany Symphony Orchestra

Musicians of Ma’alwyck

Opera Saratoga Saint Rose Camerata

Schenectady Symphony Orchestra

Folk/Traditional Artist of the Year:

Dan Berggren

Curragh Drank the Gold

Michael Jerling

The McKrells Zan & The Winterfolk

Music Video of the Year:

Buggy Jive—This Is Not a Pipe (for Rene Magritte)

The Clay People—Colossus Sawyer Fredericks—Hide your Ghost The Gibson Brothers—Everybody Hurts Girl Blue—Dreams Geoff Gordon—Interlude

Ohzhe—Been Busy

Wordthethirdeye—Shake Well

Album of the Year:

Bear Grass—LEFT Bell’s Roar—We Carry Us Blue Ranger—Saving a Beauty

Elrod + MotherJudge—Cold Warrior

The Gibson Brothers—Mockingbird

Ohzhe—Godly Mark Tolstrup—Northstar

Wild Adriatic—Feel

Record of the Year:

The Age—Falling in Love is a Dangerous Thing

Buggy Jive—This Is Not a Pipe (for Rene Magritte)

The Gibson Brothers—Lay Your Body Down

Girl Blue—Lolita Geoff Gordon—Bad Love

KATANI—Unity The McKrells—My Big Old Broken Heart

Sean Rowe—I’ll Follow Your Trail

Outward Bound Artist of the Year:

Another Michael

Don Dworkin

Hand Habits Lip Talk

David Malachowski


Promoter or Presenter of the Year:

Bee Sides Cassettes

Greg Bell (Guthrie Bell Productions)

Chateau Shows

Ted Etoll (Step Up Presents)

Mona Golub (Music Haven Concert Series)

Super Dark Collective

Radio DJ of the Year:

Brian and Chrissy WGNA

Jimmy Barrett WAIX

Andy Gregory WEXT

Bill McCann WCDB

Jeff Morad WEQX

Chris Wienk WEXT

Concert Series of the Year:

Alive at Five

Brown’s Summer Sessions

Capital Records Live!

Music Haven Concert Series

Rockin’ on the River

Super Dark Collective

Live Production Crew of the Year:

824 Productions

Denis Entertainment Group

Empire Audio High Peaks Sound Live Sound Inc

Specialized Audio-Video Inc.

Arts Publication of the Year:

The Chronicle

Preview (Times Union)

The Spot 518

Ticket (Daily Gazette)

Music Journalist of the Year:

Katie Cusack

Joseph Dalton

Michael Hochanadel

J Hunter

Jim Shahen

Don Wilcock

Best Venue Small (up to 350 people):

Caffé Lena

The Hollow Bar + Kitchen

The Linda

The Low Beat


The Strand Theatre

Best Venue Medium (350-999 people):

Cohoes Music Hall The Egg GE Theatre at Proctors

Jupiter Hall Putnam Place Van Slyck’s—Rivers Casino & Resort

Best Venue Large (1,000 people and up):

The Palace Performing Arts Center

Proctors Saratoga Performing Arts Center

Times Union Center Troy Savings Bank Music Hall

Upstate Concert Hall

Best Live Festival Large Format:

Albany Riverfront Jazz Festival Albany Tulip Festival Jazz at the Lake: Lake George Jazz Weekend

Larkfest Old Songs Festival of Traditional Music & Dance


Best Live Festival Small Format:

Babe Fest Bee Side Fest Eastbound Throwdown

GottaGetGon Folk Festival The Summit Super Dark Collective Halloween Prom

Photographer of the year:

Ed Conway

Stanley Johnson

Rudy Lu

Andre Pilarczyk

Shannon Straney

Kiki Vassilakis

People’s Choice Awards in three categories: Voting will be made public for these three categories, with details to follow. Artist of the Year, Local Concert of the Year, and Venue of the Year.

Capital Region Music Hall of Fame Winners (To Be Announced in April): Artist Lifetime Achievement and Arts Educator or Contributions to the Area Music Scene.

Comments are closed.