2017 Syracuse Area Music Award Nominees, Hall of Fame Class Announced, moe. to Perform

The Syracuse Area Music Awards (SAMMYs) announced its 2017 slate of nominees and inductees into its Hall of Fame Tuesday. In its 24th year, the SAMMYs honor Central New York artists and the contributions they make to the community.  The Hall of Fame induction will take place Thursday, March 2 at the Dinosaur Bar-B-Que on Franklin Street in Syracuse and the awards ceremony will be at the Palace Theater on James Street Friday, March 3. Tickets for the Hall of Fame ceremony are $25 and $20 for the awards ceremony and are available at the SAMMYs website.

The awards ceremony features performances by the Ripcords with the Boneyard Horns, Curtis “Tallbucks” McDowell and the Brownskin Band with special guest Bobby Green, Chris Taylor and the Custom Taylor Band and headliner moe., who happen to be in town for a performance at the F Shed the following night.

This year’s inductees include moe., Meegan Voss, Jukin’ Bone and Paul Case. Also being honored are Anthony and Patricia DeAngelis for Music Educators of the Year and Lifetime Achievement Award recipient Vincent Falcone.

moe. performing at Penn’s Peak earlier this month.

moe. is being honored for its lengthy career and for keeping in touch with its hometown roots, supporting local artists and venues in and around Central New York. After a three year hiatus, moe. is reviving its moe.down Festival at the Snow Ridge Ski Area this year.

Meegan Voss first gained prominence as a member of the all girl new wave band the Poptarts in the late ’70s. She has since gone on to a successful songwriting career and, along with her husband Steve Jordan, formed the band the Verbs. The two also established the Jay-Vee record label in 2004, which has released three Verbs albums and a fourth to be released later this year. The label has also recently signed blues legend Robert Cray. His new album, Robert Cray and Hi Rhythm will be released in April.

The Poptarts

Jukin’ Bone formed in 1968 as Free Will. RCA Records signed the band in 1971 where they recorded two albums. Led by vocalist Joe Whiting and guitarist Mark Doyle, along with George Egosarian on second guitar, John DeMaso on bass and Tom Glaister on drums, the band drew acclaim from Creem for its blues-based rock. After disbanding in 1973, Whiting and Doyle went on to record several albums together.

Jukin’ Bone

Paul Case grew up in nearby Sylvan Beach, taking up the guitar at the age of 11.  Case has been a figure on the Syracuse scene for decades, beginning with the band Home at the age of 16. Throughout the years, Case has performed in Hungry Mother and Bad Dog before heading out on his own to form Driving Sideways and later, the Paul Case Band. While teamed with former Kentucky Moon member Billy Davidson, the duo recorded 14 albums together. Case now calls Old Forge home and is still active in the local scene.

Paul Case

Lifetime Achievement Award recipient, Vincent Falcone is a classically trained pianist who began his professional career in 1963. After relocating to Las Vegas in 1972, Falcone scored a gig leading Frank Sinatra’s backing orchestra. This Rat Pack connection led to engagements with Sammy Davis, Jr., Alan King, Buddy Hackett, Tom Jones, Lena Horne, Shirley MacLain and Diana Ross. Falcone also arranged Sinatra’s Trilogy album and has performed at President George W. Bush’s Inauguration and for President Ronald Reagan. The list of famous musicians Falcone has performed with is a who’s-who of the Hollywood Walk of Fame. He continues to work and has also published a book entitled Frankly – Just Between Us, My Life Conducting Frank Sinatra’s Music in 2005.

Vincent Falcone

Anthony and Patricia DeAngelis will be honored as Educators of the Year for their lifelong commitment to teaching and performing generations of Syracuse area musicians. The couple met at the Syracuse University (now Setnor) School of Music and have been together ever since. They have been married for 62 years and have performed and taught at Syracuse University, Colgate University, LeMoyne College, Onondaga Community College, the Lyncourt School in Syracuse, the Syracuse Symphony Orchestra and the Syracuse Symphony Woodwind Quartet. To describe the two in simple terms, one would say community and mentorship. There are few musicians in the Syracuse area who have not been touched by these two educators.

The nominees for the Friday awards ceremony were chosen by an independent panel of music industry professionals and educators from around the country, based on submissions from musicians in Syracuse and the surrounding area. Below are the nominees in each category, to be awarded at the Palace Theater on March 3.

Best Pop
Sir Magnus The Infinity Coved Sessions: Overture
Ben Mauro From NY
Jenna Cunningham Break Out
Dave Novak 15 Shades of Dave
The Jess Novak Band Inches From The Sun

Best Jazz
The Carol Bryant Trio The Carol Bryant Trio
Bob Holz Visions and Friends
Second Line Syracuse Second Line Syracuse
Edgar Pagan What a Feeling
Peter Maciulewicz (Mack) From the Heart

Best Hip Hop/Rap
Steve Cook & Cyph Ingestion
Oxburg The Validation Album
World Be Free N!gg@$ To Gods
OHSO Loud Swamp Muzik Turnt Up Vol 1

Best Americana
Stephen Douglas Wolfe Stephen Douglas Wolfe EP
Shane Pas’cal Small Time Fame
Driftwood Americana
The Easy Ramblers Maybe Sometimes
Mary Ann Casale Restless Heart

Best Alternative
Townhouse Warrior For Every Wasted Day
Anthony and the Mountain I Felt Tall and Full of Blood
The Stacy White Suite Stories
Bell & Sgroi Bell & Sgroi
The Alpha Fire Magnified

Best Rock
Dom Cambareri Inspired to Make a Difference
New York Flyers Live at The Palace
Son Bully Victory Drive
King Chro and the Talismen King Chro and the Talismen
Irv Lyons Jr. Doing It All

Best Hard Rock
Bruce Campbell The Dennis EP
Spire Structures of the Universe
Breaking Solace Shatter the Silence
Level VII Circles
Murder in Rue Morgue Carbon Copy EP

Best Other Style
The Spirit of Syracuse Chorus Holiday Spirit
Syracuse Society for New Music Music Here & Now

Best Jam Band
Count Blastula Exoticandy
Joe Driscoll & Sekou Kouyate Monistic Theory
Baked Potatoes Loaded
Root Shock Root Shock

Best Folk
Lauren Mettler Patchwork
Falling Waters Trio Yellow Barn
Sheralyn Jeanne Anchor EP

Best Singer/Songwriter
Lauren Mettler A Handful of Soil
Savannah Harmon Savannah Harmon
Byron Lee Carry On
Alanna Boudreu Champion

Best Blues
Mike Delaney & the Delinquents Mike Delaney & The Delinquents
Tas Cru Simmered & Stewed
Skip Murphy and His Merry Pranksters Skip Murphy and His Merry Pranksters
Funky Blu Roots Auburn Lights

Best R & B
Sean McLeod Harriet Tubman Freedom Music Festival Live
Alani Skye Don’t Forget About Me
Mark Macri Still Human

NYS Music is one of the sponsors of the 2017 SAMMYs and will be on hand to cover all the activities.

Comments are closed.