Whitesnake Ready to Rock Scenic Artpark on Tuesday

Multi-platinum selling recording artist, David Coverdale, and his band Whitesnake, are ready to hit the stage at the Artpark Outdoor Amphitheatre on June 28, at the Artpark State Park in Lewiston. Whitesnake brings its Greatest Hits tour to the Tuesday in the Park. The amphitheater itself, is set atop the Niagara River Gorge, making for one amazing backdrop for a summer rock show.

Whitesnake 2

Fans who arrive early can check out special guest opening for Whitesnake, Whitford/St. Holmes, featuring Aerosmith guitarist Brad Whitford and Ted Nugent vocalist Derek St. Holmes. Advanced general admission tickets are $12, and $17 the week of the show.

Coverdale formed Whitesnake in 1978, after his departure from the band Deep Purple. Whitesnake released its twelfth studio album in May 2015 titled The Purple Album, a compilation of remakes from Coverdale’s Deep Purple days.

In 1987, the band released it’s self titled seventh studio album Whitesnake. The album sparked chart topping hits “Here I Go Again” and “Is This Love.” Those singles help rocket the album to eight time platinum certification in the United States, giving the band its first taste of commercial success.

“Here I Go Again,” was originally released on the band’s fifth studio album, Saints and Sinners. The single reached number one on the Billboard Hot 100 chart, and was ranked number 17 in VH1’s 100 Greatest Songs of the 80’s. The band’s single “Is This Love,” peaked at number two on the U.S. singles chart. For years it was rumored that the song was intended for singer Tina Turner. Coverdale confirmed this in the liner jacket of the bands 20th anniversary release of the self-titled Whitesnake album.

Whitesnake’s sixth studio album Slide It In, was re-released by the band’s U.S. record label. The label insisted that the album be remixed. Slide It In, is certified double platinum in the U.S. and has sold over four million copies worldwide.

Gates for the show will open at 4:45 p.m, with a show time of 6:30 p.m.


Comments are closed.