UPDATE: The National Announces Expansive All-Star Grateful Dead Tribute Set

Updated 3/25/16:  Record label 4AD has given fans a sneak preview of the tribute album, uploading five tracks to its YouTube channel. Included are videos by the National (“Mountain Dew”), Courtney Barnett (“New Speedway Boogie”), Bruce Hornsby and DeYarmond Edison (“Black Muddy River”), Phosphorescent, Jenny Lewis and Friends (“Sugaree”) and a great take on “Touch of Grey” by the War on Drugs.

The album gets a full digital release on May 20.

Original article: 

It’s been a few years in the making, four years actually. The promised Grateful Dead tribute, curated by brothers Aaron and Bryce Dessner of The National, is finally seeing the light of day.

The Day of the Dead album is a follow-up to the 2009 Red Hot album Dark Was The Night, also produced by the Dessners. That 32-track album has raised over $1.5 million to date for the Red Hot organization.

The National
The National

The expansive five-CD and limited edition LP box set will also be available digitally May 20. The set includes 59 Grateful Dead covers from a who’s who of music icons. Artists contributing to the set include, naturally, the National, as well as Wilco with Bob Weir, Bela Fleck, the War on Drugs, the Flaming Lips, Mumford and Sons, J Mascis (Dinosaur Jr) with Kurt Vile, Courtney Barnett, Jim James (My Morning Jacket), Stephen Malkmus & the Jicks (Pavement), Lee Ranaldo (Sonic Youth), Tunde Adebimpe (TV on the Radio), Ira Kaplan (Yo La Tango), Richard Reed Parry (The Arcade Fire), Lucinda Williams, Garth Hudson (The Band), Bruce Hornsby and Bonnie “Prince” Billy.

The release is the 20th in the continuing series of compilation albums put together for the non-profit AIDS/HIV foundation, Red Hot. Pre-order is available beginning March 24. Below is a song-for-song playlist of orginals included on the new release.


“Touch of Grey” – The War on Drugs
“Sugaree” – Phosphorescent, Jenny Lewis & Friends
“Candyman” – Jim James & Friends
“Cassidy” – Moses Sumney, Jenny Lewis & Friends
“Black Muddy River” – Bruce Hornsby & De Yarmond Edison
“Loser” – Ed Droste, Binki Shapiro & Friends
“Peggy-O” – The National
“Box of Rain” – Kurt Vile and the Violators (featuring J Mascis)
“Rubin & Cherise” – Bonnie ‘Prince’ Billy & Friends
“To Lay Me Down” – Perfume Genius, Sharon Van Etten & Friends
“New Speedway Boogie” – Courtney Barnett
“Friend of the Devil” – Mumford & Sons
“Uncle John’s Band” – Lucius
“Me and My Uncle” – The Lone Bellow & Friends
“Mountains of the Moon” – Lee Ranaldo, Lisa Hannigan & Friends
“Black Peter” – Anohni and yMusic
“Garcia Counterpoint” – Bryce Dessner
“Terrapin Station (Suite)” – Daniel Rossen, Christopher Bear & The National (featuring Josh Kaufman, Conrad Doucette, So Percussion & Brooklyn Youth Chorus)
“Attics of My Life” – Angel Olsen
“St. Stephen” – Wilco with Bob Weir (live)
“If I Had the World to Give” – Bonnie ‘Prince’ Billy
“Standing on the Moon” – Phosphorescent & Friends
“Cumberland Blues” – Charles Bradley and Menahan Street Band
“Ship of Fools” – The Tallest Man On Earth & Friends
“Bird Song” – Bonnie ‘Prince’ Billy & Friends
“Morning Dew” – The National
“Truckin’” – Marijuana Deathsquads
“Dark Star” – Cass McCombs, Joe Russo & Friends
“Nightfall of Diamonds” – Nightfall of Diamonds
“Transitive Refraction Axis for John Oswald” – Tim Hecker
“Going Down the Road Feeling Bad” – Lucinda Williams & Friends
“Playing in the Band” – Tunde Adebimpe, Lee Ranaldo & Friends
“Stella Blue” – Local Natives
“Eyes of the World” – Tal National
“Help on the Way” – Béla Fleck
“Franklin’s Tower” – Orchestra Baobab
“Till the Morning Comes” – Luluc with Xylouris White
“Ripple” – The Walkmen
“Brokedown Palace” – Richard Reed Parry with Caroline Shaw and Little Scream (featuring Garth Hudson)
“Here Comes Sunshine” – Real Estate
“Shakedown Street” – Unknown Mortal Orchestra
“Brown-Eyed Women” – Hiss Golden Messenger
“Jack-A-Roe” – This Is the Kit
“High Time” – Daniel Rossen and Christopher Bear
“Dire Wolf” – The Lone Bellow & Friends
“Althea” – Winston Marshall, Kodiak Blue and Shura
“Clementine” – Jam Orchestra Baobab
“China Cat Sunflower / I Know You Rider” – Stephen Malkmus and the Jicks
“Easy Wind” – Bill Callahan
“Wharf Rat” – Ira Kaplan & Friends
“Estimated Prophet” – The Rileys
“Drums / Space” – Man Forever / So Percussion / Oneida
“Cream Puff War” – Fucked Up
“Dark Star” – The Flaming Lips
“What’s Become of the Baby” – s t a r g a z e
“King Solomon’s Marbles” – Vijay Iyer
“Rosemary” – Mina Tindle & Friends
“And We Bid You Goodnight” – Sam Amidon
“I Know You Rider” The National and Bob Weir (live)

The War on Drugs will get by:

Comments are closed.