Prince Releases ‘HITnRUN Phase Two’ Album

Prince has released his second studio album in the last three months titled HITnRUN Phase Two, which follows up his September release of HITnRUN Phase One. These two releases mark Prince’s 38th and 39th career studio albums.


HITnRUN Phase Two consist of 12 tracks and is currently streaming or can be purchased on Tidal. The first track on the album “Baltimore,” was released in May on Prince’s Soundcloud. Since its release, the single has had different elements added to the track for the album.

Some other tracks on the album have also been heard before, just in different arrangements. The second track on the album, “RocknRoll Love Affair,” was originally released in 2012. The newer version now has horn overdubs, which are missing from the original.

Sixth track on the album, “Xtraloveable,” was originally written in 1982 for girl group Vanity 6, but was eventually scrapped. The song was re-recorded in 2011 as an iTunes promotion for Prince’s Welcome 2 Canada Tour. Songs “Groovy Potential” and “Screwdriver” were originally released as singles in 2013.

Prince’s claim to fame came with his platinum-selling second studio album Prince (1979). The multi-talented singer, songwriter and actor has graced airwaves and TV screens for more than 30 years.

Prince’s sixth studio album, Purple Rain, is certified diamond by the RIAA, and considered one of the greatest rock albums of all time. Purple Rain has sold over 22 million copies and is currently ranked the sixth best-selling soundtrack of all-time. The album has gone platinum 13 times and spent 24 consecutive weeks at No. 1 on the Billboard charts. The film version of Purple Rain grossed over $80 million dollars and also marked Prince’s film debut. Purple Rain also won an Academy Award for Best Original Song.

In 1993, Prince changed his name to an unpronounceable symbol, prompting people to refer to him as “the artist formerly known as Prince.” The symbol itself was said to known as the “Love Symbol.” In 2000, Prince started referring back to the Prince name once again after his contract with label Warner/Chappell expired.

HITnRUN Phase Two Track Listing:

01. Baltimore
02. RocknRoll Love Affair
03. 2 Y. 2 D.
04. Look at Me, Look at U
05. Stare
06. Xtraloveable
07. Groovy Potential
08. When She Comes
09. Screwdriver
10. Black Muse
11. Revelation
12. Big City