Anthrax to Release 30th Anniversary Edition of ‘Spreading The Disease’

New York thrash metal pioneers Anthrax‘s sophomore album Spreading The Disease turns 30 on Oct. 30, and to celebrate the madness, Anthrax will be releasing a 30th anniversary edition on Nov. 20.  This release will have all the original tracks, plus early demos and live tracks.

Spreading The Disease was the first Anthrax album to feature Central New York’s Joey Belladonna on vocals and Frank Bello on bass.  According to Blabbermouth, drummer Charlie Benante stated:

“We wanted to do something special for our fans to celebrate the anniversary of ‘Spreading The Disease’, we took the idea to Universal a couple of years ago and have been very hands-on with them, creating this special, deluxe edition that we think our fans will really like.”

Rhythm guitarist Scott Ian looks back at the album and this to say:

“We didn’t know what we were doing, but we totally knew what we were doing, I know that doesn’t make sense, but it’s where we were at, a bunch of 21 year-old kids making our major label debut on a shoestring budget with nothing but a dream and a bunch of songs that we thought killed. We were right and our dream came true. Thank you to all the fans that put this record and Anthrax on the map way back when and still support us today. Cheers my friends!”

“Spreading The Disease” 30th-anniversary edition track listing:

Disc One

01. A.I.R.
02. Lone Justice
03. Madhouse
04. S.S.D./Stand or Fall
05. The Enemy
06. Aftershock
07. Armed and Dangerous
08. Medusa
09. Gung-Ho
10. Medusa (Joey Belladonna demo)

Disc Two

01. A.I.R. *
02. Metal Thrashing Mad *
03. The Enemy *
04. Madhouse *
05. Howling Furries *
06. Armed And Dangerous *
07. Gung-Ho *
08. Soldiers of Metal *
09. Lone Justice **
10. Gung-Ho **
11. Metal Thrashing Mad **
12. Raise Hell **
13. Stand Or Fall **
14. Aftershock **
15. Armed And Dangerous **
16. Madhouse **
17. The Enemy **

* Live at Sun Plaza (Tokyo) 1987
** Rhythm track tape, 1984